I was recently in talks with a set of publishers about a set of specific revenue opportunities, where one of the most evident (and honest) dialogue’s, was about how to quantify the potential revenue increase.
These publishers, not much different from everybody else, derived their revenue from channels such as:
- Display Advertising (CPM)
- Contextual Keyword Advertising (CPC)
- Sponsorships (CPT)
- Lead generation (CPA/CPL)
Think of the above list, as the publishers running internal sales departments, them using a multiple of advertising networks at the same time, having AdSense or similar applied to a subset of their pages, selling random front page take overs for 24 hours and unique lead generation for events as they happen etc.
My first thought, like most of you, I am sure, was to assemble all twenty something revenue streams in an Excel, and try to come up with a model for how we could quantify, the revenue increase of a promised page view increase. Assuring myself, that I took into consideration, facts like, unsold inventory, price differences between sections, the volatility of lead generation payouts etc. Honestly, first try, it didn’t work that well. There is simply too many variables, for which we know too little, which we need to take into consideration. Remembering that some of the variables go beyond those directly inferred from the revenue streams themselves.
I went back and had a second look at this, with the principle of the simplest explanation usually being the correct one. So I simply went with a monthly eCPM value [1].
eCPM = (Monthly Revenue / Monthly Impressions) * 1000
What’s beautiful, to me at least, in the above eCPM approach, is that it takes into consideration ALL known, and ALL unknown variables. AND It worked splendidly :-)
Let’s create an example for Publisher X:
Monthly revenue: $350,000
Monthly impression: 110,000,000
eCPM = ($350,000 / 110,000,000)*1000
eCPM = $3.18
Evaluating an initiative, which promises to provide an additional 22,000,000 page view impressions per month, the revenue opportunity is $ 69,960 ((22,000,000 * $3.18)/1000).
In conclusion. I suggest the possibility of replacing sophisticated online revenue opportunity models with simple monthly eCPM values, to calculate believable publisher revenue opportunities. I am super eager to hear about your models, so please share, and please refute my simplification.
[1] eCPM: Effective Cost Per Thousand
Update: Perhaps it’s time to baptize this not per the tone of Google (eCPM) – but as the more appropriate RPM (Revenue per Thousand)
Cheers :-)
/ Dennis (@dennismortensen)
Pingback: Front Page CTR Lift – A Holiday Message :) | Visual Revenue